Rachel Fieldhouse


Revealed: 2021 Booker Prize shortlist

Revealed: 2021 Booker Prize shortlist

The shortlist for the 2021 Booker Prize for Fiction has been announced, with six authors in the running for the coveted title and £50,000 prize money.

The Booker Prize is open to authors of any nationality who have published a novel in the UK or Ireland, which has been written or translated into English.

The authors were selected from the 158 novels published in the UK or Ireland between October 1, 2020 and September 30, 2021.

Judging this year’s finalists, the panel includes historian Maya Jasanoff, writer and editor Horatia Harrod, actor Natascha McElhone, two-time Booker-shortlisted novelist and professor Chigozie Obioma, and writer and former Archbishop Rowan Williams.

Ms Jasanoff, the chair of the judging panel, said “With so many ambitious and intelligent books before us, the judges engaged in rich discussions not only about the qualities of any given title, but often about the purpose of fiction itself.

“We are pleased to present a shortlist that delivers as wide a range of original stories as it does voices and styles.”

The shortlist for the 2021 Booker Prize for Fiction include:

  • The Promise, Damon Galgut
  • A Passage North, Anuk Arudpragasam
  • No One is Talking About This, Patricia Lockwood
  • The Fortune Men, Nadifa Mohamed
  • Bewilderment, Richard Powers
  • Great Circle, Maggie Shipstead
The winner will be announced on November 2.

Image: The Booker Prizes

Our Partners